James Ormond, Chairman

Board of Governors 2023 – 2024

Board of Governors

(Terms expire at year end as indicated below.)

Lay leaders have guided the Chapel since its founding in the early 1950s, while a new guest minister leads us in worship each week– except for our two music Sundays.

Our 20-member Board of Governors operates with staggered 4-year terms to ensure continuity and consistency in policies and practices. Five new members are elected annually to replace the outgoing members. The Executive committee — Chair, Vice-Chair, Treasurer, and Secretary — are elected bi-annually to serve 2-year terms.

The Board meets every other month each year beginning in January.

Executive Committee

James Ormond, Chairman
Julia Sherron, Vice Chair
JR Howell, Treasurer
Sandra Davis, Secretary
Debo Bell, Ex Officio







Hunter Bell
Eddie Hatch
Larry Combs
Robert Sprouse
Damon Brock








Judy Brock
Lisa Godwin
JR Howell
Richard Jackson
Julia Sherron









Jean Bell
Greg Griffin
Louis Peele
Neisy Sanderson
Ray Teachey








Terri Hall
Henry Kirby
Kevin McCloskey
Julia Pollock
Charlesanna Williams









Our three Trustees hold staggered 3-year terms. One new trustee is elected annually to replace the outgoing trustee.

         2024                            2025                          2026

Herb Ormond
Debo Bell
Freddie King







The Chapel has 27 standing committees.

  • Benevolence
  • Buildings & Grounds
  • By-Laws
  • Christian Education
  • Communications and Technology
  • Communion
  • Directory
  • Endowment/Planned Giving
  • Evangelism/Missions
  • Facility Use
  • Finance
  • Flower
  • History
  • Insurance
  • Library
  • Memorial
  • Minister Selection
  • Music
  • Nominating
  • Nursery
  • Outreach
  • Pastoral Care
  • Planning
  • Social
  • Summer Youth Program
  • Usher
  • Worship